AGENDA for the fifth Annual General Meeting (the 'Meeting') of the Company, and the 27th Annual General Meeting of the association, to be held at 12:00 noon on Thursday 19 March 2020 in the Charter Suite at Manchester Central, Windmill Street, Manchester, M2 3GX for the following purposes:

1. Welcome and apologies


To consider and, if thought fit, approve the following resolutions, to be proposed as ordinary resolutions of the Company:

2. To approve the minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting of the Company held on 28 March 2019.

3. To receive and adopt the annual report of the Trustees and the accounts of the Company for the financial year ended 31 December 2019.

4. To re-appoint Wenn Townsend the auditors of the Company to hold office from the conclusion of this meeting until the conclusion of the next general meeting of the Company at which audited accounts are laid, and to authorise the directors to fix their remuneration.

5. To note the resignations of Mr. Mike Cope and Mrs. Elizabeth Bailey as Trustees and Directors of the Company, both having ceased employment with member institutions.

6. To consider and, if thought fit, appoint the following honorary officers (each of whom has consented to act) to stand as honorary officers of the Company from the close of this meeting for a term of two years in accordance with its Articles of Association, or as otherwise specified in any future amendments made to the Articles which are approved by the members of the Company:

  • Dean Phillips as Honorary Treasurer of the Company.
    Proposed by David Telford, University of Stirling.
    Seconded by Adrian Ellison, University of West London
  • Paul Butler as Honorary Secretary of the Company.
    Proposed by Gareth McAleese, Ulster University
    Seconded by James Blair, University of Stirling

7. To elect two Elected Members to serve in place of Mr. Mike Cope and Mrs. Elizabeth Bailey. Nominations for the two positions are as follows:

Nominee Member institution Proposer Seconder 
Garod Barker  Richmond upon Thames College   Franco Noto, College of North West London   Darren Tysoe, Regent’s University London
Sarah Cockrill 
Coventry University  David Telford, University of Stirling  Nathalie Czechowski, University of South Wales 
Arthur Clune University of York  Nick Leake, Kings College London  Mathew Flower, University of Wolverhampton
Paul Harness Lancaster University  Claire Priestley, City University of London  Heidi Fraser-Krauss,  University of York
Darren Tysoe Regent’s University  Paula Vickers, Middlesex University London  Helen Hammond, WMC - The Camden College


8. In accordance with the Articles of Association of the Company:

To accept the nominations of the Special Interest Group Committees and appoint the Chairs of the Special Interest Groups of the Charity as follows:


Chair Proposer Seconder
Corporate Information  Systems Group (CISG) Gareth McAleese, Ulster University James Smith, Birkbeck, University of London James Blair, University of Stirling
Digital Capabilities Group (DCG) Kerry Pinny, University of Warwick Julie Adams, Staffordshire University Elaine Swift, University of Worcester
Digital Education Group (DEG) Richard Goodman, Loughborough University Farzana Latif, University of Sheffield Julie Voce, City, University of London
Enterprise Architecture (EA) Lex Wilkinson, Sheffield Hallam University Stephane Pajon, Coventry University Karl Walker, University of Exeter
HEIDS Brian Henderson, University of Aberdeen Jonathan Monk, University of Dundee David Telford, University of Stirling
Infrastructure Group (IG) Mathew Flower, University of Wolverhampton Joanna Radley, University of Huddersfield Guilherme De Sousa, Heriot-Watt University 
Leadership Conference Committee (LCC) Sally Bogg, Leeds Beckett University David Telford, University of Stirling  Drew Cook, University of Lincoln
ucisa London Group Trevor Baxter, King’s College London Darren Tysoe, Regents University Nick Leake, Kings College, London.
Project and Change Management Group (PCMG) Sally Jorjani, Edinburgh Napier University David Telford, University of Stirling  Drew Cook, University of Lincoln
Software and Software Procurement Group (SSPG) Tina Pask, University of London  Mark Allinson, Edge Hill University
Robert Silk, University College London
Support Services Group (SSG) Joint chair - Lisa McDonald, University of Edinburgh  Sally Bogg, Leeds Beckett University  Alistair Reid-Pearson, University of Huddersfield
Joint Chair - Alistair Reid-Pearson, University of Huddersfield Henrik Brogger, Queen Mary University of London Lisa McDonald, University of Edinburgh
Women in Tech (WiT) Lynne Newbitt, Loughborough University  Vicky Wilkie, University of York Carla Thornley, University of Oxford
Networking Group*  David Hayling, University of Kent Matthew Flower, University of Wolverhampton Mark Franklin, University of Sheffield

 * members are asked to note the Networking Group are working with the Infrastructure Group to merge the two groups. David Hayling will remain chair of the Networking Group to completion of the merger. 

9. To receive the Treasurer’s Report for the financial year ended 31 December 2019 and summary Budget for the current year ending 31 December 2020.

10. To approve the increase in subscription fees by 12.5% for 2021

This reflects the discussion at the ucisa AGM in 2019 where an initial rise of 12.5% in 2020 was approved as part of a phased approach with an anticipated further 12.5% increase necessary in 2021, in recognition of the fact that subscription fees had been held constant since 2009. It was noted at the 2019 AGM that in real terms, based on annual inflation figures from the ONS, over the last 10 years the value of subscription income for ucisa had fallen by some 45%, and that this was unsustainable.

11. Any other business